Shooting the Feature Film Mise en Abyme

Our D.P., Mike call, chose to go with the Canon C100 Cinema camera for our feature film. A great choice...with its amazing low-light capabilities we'll be able to shoot a lot of chiaroscuro and naturally lit scenes, which is the way I envisioned the film.

Our D.P., Mike call, chose to go with the Canon C100 Cinema camera for our feature film. A great choice…with its amazing low-light capabilities we’ll be able to shoot a lot of chiaroscuro and naturally lit scenes, which is exactly what I plan on doing with this film.

Last Saturday, along with Mike Call, our D.P., I started shooting my feature film Mise en Abyme. It was actually just a test shoot, but it got me excited for the weeks and months to come as we shoot our feature film. Seeing what I was able to do with Predestination emboldened me to go full-sail into production on this feature film. Mise en Abyme, like Predestination is a rather angsty, philosophical and personal work. Ever notice that the best films by filmmakers are always their most personal ones? I decided to skip straight to the good stuff. I really didn’t hold any punches when writing the script. It’s exactly the film I want to make.

The independent filmmaker’s dilemma: How to create a good film, even an amazing film, without Hollywood budgets…

The paradox of art is that restrictions, far from hindering you, actually free you in your creativity. If I had a huge budget, I would have never written this very personal script, which I feel is the best I could have written. Instead I would have unconsciously copied what every one else is doing and tried to make a “genre” flick. An action flick. A western. A sci-fi. I’m not knocking genre. I think genre, used artfully, can be amazing. Evangelion was able to transcend genre, and excel as a very personal work of art. Same goes to some degree with Solaris. When the filmmaker injects no personal message, no philosophy into a genre film, it is just a dead husk, a vehicle for making money. There is no greater art than art which speaks the truth. And the best way to speak the truth is to write what is in your heart.

Leave a Reply

