Voice-Over: Sequel to The Chapel

First of all, I want to apologize to my loyal readers that I haven’t posted as frequently on my blog lately. There’s a simple reason for this: I’ve been spending more time actually working on films! That’s definitely a good thing. When I have my feature film done (I’ve been writing and rewriting faithfully every day….getting very close to a final draft! Then we can start shooting!), I’m sure I’ll have lots to talk about….but even less time to write… :/ (not sure what that symbol means, but I see a lot of people do it in text messages, and I thought I’d try it out…)

Image Credit: Patryk Kizny http://kizny.com/

Image Credit: Patryk Kizny http://kizny.com/

Today I helped out with a recording session with some wonderfully talented Voice-Over artists as we recorded voice-over for Patryk Kizny’s upcoming film, a sequel to his acclaimed and very popular short film: The Chapel. If you’ve never seen it, you’re in for a treat. It’s one of the most amazingly beautiful short films to ever grace cyberspace with its presence. Watch here: https://vimeo.com/16414140

There are many things in life we can only learn by doing, voice-over is probably one of them. Directing actors another. And directing voice-over actors another still. Previous to working on Patryk’s project, I was fortunate to have had experience doing all three of these on my own previous projects. But I had never worked on anything quite like this. I can say I learned a lot from these seasoned and talented artists.

The fascinating thing about voice-over work is that even with the same words, the slightest different inflection, pacing, or tone can drastically alter the meaning and feeling of the piece. Each person is able to put a different spin, their own interpretation, which can enhance a message, alter meaning, invoke certain moods. The possible variations are endless. The voice is just as much an instrument as the violin or piano.

And of course, there is that certain satisfaction that comes from hearing someone make words that you write come to life….

I’ve also recently been putting the finishing touches on my own short film which uses extensive voice-over: Predestination. More on that soon. Stay in touch.

Leave a Reply

