Straight From Mumbai, India

Mumbai India

image: theflightdeal.com

This blog post comes to you today thanks to Zinal Bhadra, a blogger in Mumbai, India. (Never been to India, though my brother Pukha lived there for a while.)

I had gotten to a point where I was frustrated with myself for not accomplishing my goals faster, and I had sort of vowed to myself not to write another blog post until I had something to post about, such as a work of art that was ready for the public.

Actually, to be quite honest, I’ve been creating various things, but I have so many started projects that aren’t quite finished that it feels like Steve Jobs’ famous maxim “Real Artists Ship” is hanging over my head like a rusty guillotine. My only salvation is that hopefully I’m thick-skulled enough that it will just bounce right off if and when it actually falls.

It almost makes me wonder if I’ll end up being like Franz Kafka. I don’t mean that I’ll ever be as good as he was. He is hailed as one of the greatest writers of all time. But I find not just his writing, but the true story of his life, to be one of the most intriguing stories I’ve encountered. Here’s my own Reader’s Digest version: He wrote a bunch of short stories and unfinished novels, but he felt that they were all crap, and ordered his friend Max Brod to destroy them all after his death. Max disobeyed his friend’s last request, and that’s how we have most of what still exists of Kafka’s work. (Even so, it’s estimated that Kafka had already successfully destroyed about 90% of his own work.) For a lengthier and more detailed retelling of the same story, check out Kafka on Wikipedia.

So what does this all have to do with a blogger in Mumbai? Well, she nominated me for an award. Now these chain blogging awards seemed borderline “chain email”-esque to me at first, but I have since repented of my snobbish ways and decided they have merit. The proof that they have merit is that I’m writing this article right now. And you are reading it. Hopefully it will in some way inspire you to do something cool like read Kafka, or write a short story, or a poem, or go out and do some photography. Or start a blog. Or all of the above.

So without further ado, I shall answer the questions called forth upon me by the powers vested in the Sunshine Award. Thanks Zinal for motivating me to write.

Love or Money?

I’ll take both. Kidding. Actually there’s nothing really that special about money, it’s just printed-on pieces of paper. It’s what it can buy when used wisely that has merit. But true love is priceless. I didn’t know what true love was until I became a father.

High salary or job satisfaction?

It seems that these two usually come hand-in-hand. Doing what you love makes you better at what you do and more valuable to others. But if I had to pick between the two, it would be definitely be job satisfaction.

Favorite Book?

Favorite books include Speaker for the Dead, Neuromancer, Les Miserables, and Robert Asprin’s Myth series.

Television character that you simply adore?

L from Death Note. And Light Yagami from the same. (I’m a gemini.)

Favorite Music

I like grunge, techno, hip-hop. Also there are some movies and anime with really awesome soundtracks which I love.

Favorite type of movie

My favorite type of movie? Good. Well-written. Well-directed. Well-acted.

I love excellent films from all genres. With the possible exception of chick flick road movies. But then, I already said “excellent” so those are ruled out anyways.

Some directors that I highly admire are the Coen Brothers, Danny Boyle, Darren Aronofsky, Stanley Kubrick, John Woo, Sergio Leone, and Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino (those last two just their earlier stuff).

My Nominees for the Sunshine Award*:

Today I Watched A Movie – Justin’s succinct and satirical reviews of movies are always entertaining and informative.

50 Year Project – I love T.B.M.’s premise: watch 100 movies (AFI’s Top 100) and read 1001 books, and visit 192 countries (all the countries in the world).

Live to Write — Write to Live – The name pretty much sums it all up.

Bucket List Publications – Lesley Carter’s blog inspires me to “just do it.”

Discovering Rebel – While I don’t agree with his views on religion, Ryan and I agree on pretty much everything else, especially on following our passions. Plus we took horticulture in high school together! Ryan is working on a memoir of overcoming drug addiction.

Andy Watches Movies – Like Justin, Andy also reviews films on a regular basis. I feel akin to these guys because I’m a cinema junkie as well.

Okay, that’s it! Now get back to work on making your dreams a reality.

*The Sunshine Award requires:

  • Answer some questions about myself
  • Nominate some of my favorite bloggers
  • Let them now that they have been nominated
  • Share the love and link the person who nominated me
8 comments

  1. Thanks Daniel 🙂 i don’t believe you actually did a post on me. Feel humbled 🙂

    1. Thanks to you for nominating me! Keep up the awesome blogging!

  2. Oh Btw, you have to paste that award image on your sidebar. This is how you do it:
    Check your widgets, and see where do you want to place it, sidebars/ footer. Drag the ‘Image’ widget on the sidebar menu, give the link of the image to be posted and save the widget. Then check your blog, it will appear there..tada!

  3. Thanks, buddy! I hope to find the time to reciprocate the award

  4. I love your answer for favorite movie. I feel the same. I’ll watch any genre as long as it’s good. I feel the same about books. I bounce from one genre to another in search of great writing. It could be a romance or thriller, I don’t care. I care about the story.

    Congrats on the award and thanks for the nomination. Have a great weekend!

    1. I agree 100%! It’s all about the story. You’re welcome on the nomination. You deserve it.

      Thanks for your wonderful comments as always!

  5. Pretty cool. And good nominations. I will be following Bucket List Publications from here on out. And of course, Live to Write, Write to Live is just a staple.

    1. Bucket List it up man! Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

