The Battle is On

As I talked about in my last post, entitled The Fury of Resistance, I’m endeavoring to do something quite irrational and stupid: I’m writing a novel in 30 days. Why? Because I decided before I turn 35 I’m going to have accomplished at least that. Heck, I started writing my first novel (The Continued Adventures of Boba Fett) 20 years ago and never finished it.

I’m now on Day 8. And the fury of Resistance as been my constant companion since Day 1. I’m loving it. I have the privilege of getting the sh$% beat out of me every day. Makes me feel like a true artist.

When you get kicked in the nuts everyday by life, you know you’re doing something right.

I’m now in my second week. I’ve decided to call in the big guns. That’s right. The person who if you’ve been reading my blog, you’re probably sick of hearing about: Steven Pressfield, the furious angel, the patron saint of artists everywhere. For whatever reason the heavens decided to call on Steven to give us this message: you aren’t even living up to a 100th of your potential. Get off your ass and do the work.

And that’s the title of his second book addressed to artists. Not the first part, but just: Do The Work. (Although I think Get Off Your Ass and Do the Work would be a very fitting title for the book as well.)

Every time I read a chapter of either War of Art or now its sequel, I feel infused with energy and ready to go out and kick Resistance’s butt all over again. I need that. I need the renewed enthusiasm every day.

So artists, creators, people trying to better themselves, trying to become their dream selves, we’ve got a few more enemies to consider, but also a host of new allies, which are introduced in this second book.

New Enemies

We already know about Resistance, but now Resistance has a few friends (as if it needed them)

1. Rational Thought

2. Friends and Family

So two new enemies, but also a bunch of…

New Allies

1. Stupidity

2. Stubbornness

3. Blind Faith

4. Passion

5. Assistance (the opposite of Resistance)

6. Friends and Family

So apparently friends and family can be both friends and foes on our path to enlightenment. Makes sense.

Well, I’m happy to find out that the first two from the ally list are good things, since I’ve got both of them in spades. I must be on the right track.

I’m sure I’ll have much more to say about these new enemies and allies in the days and weeks to come, as I battle Resistance and finish my first draft. For the time being, if you’ve already read War of Art, I can wholeheartedly recommend this “sequel,” Do The Work. It’s already been hugely motivating and I’ve only read the first few chapters.

And if you haven’t read War of Art, Steven Pressfield’s first inspirational book on overcoming Resistance, stop what you are doing and go read it immediately. It will change your life.

Interestingly enough, I seem to be learning about allies and enemies in Do The Work at the exact spot in my own “Hero’s Journey” which is listed as “Test, Allies, Enemies.” It’s number #6, after #5, Crossing the Threshold. (See the Hero’s Journey chart on my previous post, Shout-Out: Steven Pressfield’s Blog and The Hero’s Journey. So I crossed the threshold at Day 1 when I started writing my novel every day, then I started going through tests and trials of fire as I talked about in my last post, and now I just happened to start reading Do The Work which introduces me to allies and enemies. Seems like quite the coincidence. But then, I believe there are no coincidences.

4 comments

  1. todayiwatchedamovie · · Reply

    Looks like yet another book for me to get…if I can ever put down War of Art.

    1. Goes right along perfectly with War of Art. It pretty much just picks up where WOA left off. I plan to reread both of them many times…

  2. Funny, I just purchased a copy of War of Art last night since I had borrowed it when I initially read it. Also, I went to purchase “Do The Work” and was like $3 shy in my paypal. (starving artist) Needless to say, “Do The Work” will be getting shipped tomorrow.

    1. Nice. Re: Starving Artist, I’m proud of not being a popular artist. Van Gogh never sold a single painting during his lifetime. I think to continue to create against all odds is a much greater accomplishment that to create when you know millions of people will be plunking down hamiltons every time you type a word. My heroes are the artists who have integrity and create for art itself, not sell-outs. High five for being a starving artist!

Leave a Reply

