Professional Author: Income 35 Cents

published authorI’m like 7-Eleven. I may not being doing business 24/7, but I’m always open.

That’s right folks. I’ve made my first 35 cents as a published author! (Still trying to figure out how to hang it on the wall like restaurants do with the first dollar they make.) So far, according to KDP (Kindle Direct Publishing), one copy of RoboGirl: Episode 1: Dance Robot has been sold! (It’s 99 cents, but Amazon keeps 64 cents for themselves. Stingy bastards.)

Now before you tell me not to go and spend it all in one place, let’s remember the reason why I’m doing all this. If you’ve been checking in on any of my previous posts, you know that I’ve repeatedly talked about the importance of creating for yourself and no one else. In fact, I spoke on this at a seminar recently and I’m planning on making the video available for everyone’s online viewing pleasure soon, by popular demand of my one fan who bought my ebook.

I recently share the Definition of a Hack in a video blog, but it’s worth repeating here for emphasis:

“A hack…is a writer who second-guesses his audience. When the hack sits down to work, he doesn’t ask himself what’s in his own heart. He asks what the market is looking for.”

– From War of Art by Steven Pressfield

When I sat down and wrote this story, I had an audience of one: myself. I wrote exactly what I wanted to read. I wrote what was in my own heart at the time. It’s strange how sometimes fiction allows us to share feelings which are most personal, feelings that we wouldn’t even share with people in conversation or an email. Through the abstract and the fictive, we create a conduit through which to channel our inner self.

So, hopefully this proves that I’m not some money-grubber out to get my hands on innocent internet bystanders’ hard-earned Benjamins. (If I am, I’m doing a terrible job at it.) Instead, I’m just your average Joe who decided he’s sick of not living out his passions and is going to chase down his dreams even if it kills him.

You can’t wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club.

– Jack London

Of course, with any new endeavor, whether it be a startup business, a fashion trend, or even a fictional universe, it’s to be expected that it will take a deal of time before it starts gaining momentum. All I know is that either way, I’m making my audience of one happy. And that’s what counts.

…oh wait, it’s two now, with my unknown happy reader from Amazonland.

Thanks, reader! I promise more is on the way!

19 comments

    1. Thanks for the kind review on amazon btw

  1. “When I sat down and wrote this story, I had an audience of one: myself. I wrote exactly what I wanted to read.” Yes!

    1. Thanks transparentguy 🙂

      Yes, I consider myself the antithesis of a hack: I may not be making loads of money off my stories, but at least they are honest!

      Thanks for the share

  2. todayiwatchedamovie · · Reply

    Enjoy another 35 cents, my friend.

    1. todayiwatchedamovie · · Reply

      Replying to my own comment…I just sat here and read the whole thing. Best dollar I’ve spent today!

      1. Hahah….I replied to your first comment before I read the second one. Thanks man! Better than the dollar menu on McDonald’s! And zero calories to boot!

      2. todayiwatchedamovie · ·

        Key the Metal Idol was my favorite anime back in the day. I definitely saw a few similarities. Plus I love robots. Can’t wait to find out who Crazy Lady is!

      3. I had never heard of that one…I’m totally going to watch it now! From the pic it looks awesome! Thanks for the awesome tip!

        Without spoiling too much, there will be plenty of Crazy Lady action in the second installment. I’m working furiously to get through my first draft of a full length novel of RoboGirl, but I’ve got episode 2 pretty much done but may rework a few things before I get it up on Amazon. Either way, I’ll def keep ya posted here on da blog!

      4. todayiwatchedamovie · ·

        So is the novel version a retelling of the whole story, or is it separate from these episodes altogether?

      5. It’s a work in progress, so we’ll see. I am experimenting with either using serial publishing to publish one episode at a time and then compile it at some later time into a novel, or the novel might be a completely separate work. What are your thoughts on the serial publishing, a.k.a. “episodes” approach? Did you enjoy reading it as one episode or do you think it would work better as a whole novel? (of course time is a factor as well, since it might take me a long time to get a novel published, which will probably require several revisions, whereas if I publish episodes serially I can usually get them out fairly quickly)

    2. Thanks man! I feel rich!

      I hope you enjoy the read. I’m working hard at continuing the story, and I’m excited to see where it goes. I’ll be looking forward to hearing how you liked it!

      Thanks again!

      1. It’s kind of weird how it displays my comments in reverse order

  3. todayiwatchedamovie · · Reply

    The order comments show up is a setting in WordPress. I can’t see our last comments from the little thread above, so I’ll reply here. I’ve seen releasing novels online in episodic format, then releasing the entire thing as a novel at the end, recommended by several books on modern publishing techniques. I think it keeps the reader interested, helps you build an interest in the book, and gives you a little more time to fix any inconsistencies that pop up here and there before you combine it all together.

    1. Yeah, I think that makes sense. I’ve read about some example of authors doing that. I thought it was worth trying out. Hopefully I’ll have the next episode up soon…however i must admit this Book In a Month thing is a lot more strenuous than I thought! But I’m not backing down. I’m on day three. Gonna be writing for the next few hours to catch up to where i need to be already…

  4. […] live.  Seems simple, right?  Wrong.  I have been reminded today by my friend Daniel Bean of the importance of writing to the audience that counts: […]

  5. Just as I commented on Discovering Rebel, you can’t be a hack. Any artist who refuses to pour his heart, his ideas and his beliefs into his writing is by any definition a salaryman, another nine to fiver trying to make some bread while not only betraying his true readership, but also himself.

    1. I agree 100%. Or as I told Ryan (Discovering Rebel) the other day (paraphrasing): whenever you create what isn’t in your heart, you are prostituting your talents.

  6. […] Posts Professional Author: Income 35 CentsRoboGirl: It's Hard Not To Fall In Love A Girl Who Can Kick The Terminator's AssSydney Sorenson Utah […]

Leave a Reply

