Challenges vs Resolutions

“People often make resolutions to create change, especially on New Year’s Eve. But resolutions are one of the biggest scams going—they usually don’t have staying power. You focus on what you want but often end up getting what you don’t want. Instead, why not focus on what you already have first? By focusing on the positive themes (what you’re grateful for), the negative is crowded out.” – The Naked Lens, Michael Sean Kaminsky

I agree with Kaminsky 100% that we should focus on the positive, and on the things we are grateful for in life. When we make a resolution like “I will make X amount of dollars,” we are focusing on what we don’t have. Focusing on what you don’t have usually produces fairly negative results. Personally, I find that the film & book “The Secret” and it’s “visualizing checks in the mail” is a load of crap. It only serves to exacerbate the materialistic, greedy mindset of today’s society.

The difference in the resolutions I make (and that really work) is that I don’t make a resolution about something I will have or get, I make a resolution about something I will do or give. (People everywhere will see the world through my camera – 2011. I will write, direct, and act in a feature film, 2012.)

Material wealth and possessions are no more than a means to an end. They obviously don’t give us happiness or fulfillment by themselves. (As proof, look at how many of the “rich & famous” people in Hollywood whose lives are a miserable train wreck.) If I challenge myself to make a film, and focus on that, than whatever I need to make that film, I will attract to me (via the law of attraction). If for some reason, I need money to make that film, I will attract that. If I need the help of certain people and their talents, that too will flow into my life.

So instead of making goals that focus on things to get, why not instead focus on what we can do, what we can give to society? Why not challenge ourselves to actually achieve something, and use our talents for good? When we are on our deathbeds, we are not going to look back and think “Wow, I made millions of dollars, I am so awesome.” But if we created, if we gave something to society, then we will be able to look back and know that our lives actually had meaning.

Leave a Reply

