The Problem With Hollywood

Been reading Rebel Without a Crew by Robert Rodriguez. Talks about how he made El Mariachi for $7,000 and his exploits trying to get it sold. This is from one of his journal entries when he went and met with people from Spanish-language Direct to Video distributors: “I asked Benjamin directly if he felt any of the movies they make are any good. Does he take any of them home at night and watch them for entertainment. He shook his head no. He knows they suck. I told him the reason they suck is because they’re made by a bunch of businessmen trying to make a quick buck and it’s killing their industry.” (emphasis added)

He was talking about Spanish Direct to Video, but when I read this I thought: “Holy crap, you couldn’t write a better description of Hollywood executives.” It’s true there are a few good movies that come out of Hollywood (like Inception and Limitless). But honestly the majority just suck. I used to go to the theater all the time. Now I go occasionally, and prefer to not waste my money. I’ve got Netflix and I have a huge selection of movies from all over the world and from every era, so I can be more selective and watch movies that are actually good. (Watched Iron Monkey last night. While the story was a little trite, it was done in a very innovative and fun way, and the action was to do for. I loved it.)

Anyways, I loved that quote from Robert Rodriguez, and I just had to throw my two cents in.

2 comments

  1. James Nelson Smith · · Reply

    Rebel Without A Crew is a book that should be in every independent filmmakers library. First off it’s inspiring, but second, it gives you some nuts and bolts on how to get a film made. I think now that if Rodriguez had made El Mariachi with the inexpensive video and editing equipment we have today, he could have actually made El Mariachi for less than $7000, and wouldn’t have needed to do all the sound gymnastic’s he did the first time round.

    1. James,

      I agree all the way. Look at how far technology has come. Now we have no excuses! Let’s go out and make some freakin’ films! 🙂

Leave a Reply

