Havaianas – A film about the first Havaianas store in America

Today I launched “Havaianas” on Vimeo. I had the good fortune to work with the owner of the first Havaianas store in America, Cecília Andrade, to make a short documentary about the store. Her store is located right in front of the beach in Huntington Beach, CA. My brother Miles came along with me and shows up in a few shots.

I love doing documentary because the people and the places are so real, and so spontaneous. I especially love making documentaries on DSLR because it has the look of film, and depth of field capabilities of film, so they look like “films” not “videos.” I also used Philip Bloom’s picture style settings that my friend Dale Kamp showed me when we filmed Citius, and I really like how it adds to the look of this film. It’s a nice smooth filmic look, very fitting for the mood of this piece.

I shot of lot of unique and interesting footage at the beach that I’m going to edit into another short doc and post on Vimeo in the near future. So stay tuned! In the meantime, I hope you enjoy watching “Havaianas” as much as I enjoyed making it!

More about my trip on my blog post Huntington Beach:

Leave a Reply

