Citius

So I decided to finally start my filmmaking blog! Welcome to the new home of discussions on what is currently going on here at Daniel Bean Films.

I recently went location scouting for my upcoming film, Mobius, with Dale Kamp in Las Vegas. Dale is going to be my D.P. on Mobius. Dale has a Canon 7D and I have a Canon T2i, both of which record very cinematic, beautiful 1080p video. So rather than location scout the traditional way and take only stills to use for reference later, we decided to shoot everything as video. The strip became a cinematographers playground!

While scouting, we got quite a bit of footage, so I decided to cut some of it together into a short film called Citius. It will be the first in a series of three short films, called Citius, Altius, and Fortius. (“Swifter, Higher, and Stronger” in Latin.) These short films will stand separately from my film Mobius which is in pre-production and I plan to make this summer. You can check out my films on Vimeo at http://vimeo.com/danielbean.

As you may know, I also created Death Pad, the animated parody based on the anime Death Note and the Apple iPad. You can watch it at http://www.deathpad.com.

Citius is just a small glimpse of what is to come…

Stay tuned!

5 comments

  1. […] with me on Citius, below (yes, that silhouette in the thumbnail is of him and his 7D-read my blog entry on Citius for more info), and we plan to work together on more films in the future. Please take a moment to […]

  2. Julie Pickens · · Reply

    Enjoyed the short film Citius. I loved they way the images flowed, for example, my favorite was the old man playing the accordion, the way that image transitioned into the next shot of Las Vegas architecture.

    1. Thanks! I appreciate the comment. 🙂

  3. […] the idea of doing any filming. We had thought up this idea a few months ago while we were filming Citius. You see, Dale and I are both of the opinion that there is nothing we can’t do, so when we […]

  4. […] Note that Daniel Bean’s Mobius is mentioned three places: at the end of Citius (above), in the comments on Citius on Vimeo, and on this July 2010 blog post. […]

Leave a Reply

